jump to navigation

How To Tell You [BACKDATED] June 20, 2014

Posted by blith3 in Ramblings.
trackback

So, the moment I sank into my seat this morning, I made THE CALL to Human Resources Department. Heart hammering in my chest, these were the words I heard while on bated breath… “Hmmm…I don’t know how to tell you this…”

Words cannot adequately describe how it felt to hear that. It’s a peculiar position to be in, remaining calm on the phone and carrying on a conversation whilst my heart was slowly cracking into many a million pieces. It dawned onto me right then, at barely 9am, how much I REALLY, REALLY wanted to go to B despite my initial misgivings about spending an entire 2 years in another country, halfway across the world.

Thanks to the Internet and social media, I have slowly but surely come accustomed to the thought of being part of B. In the past few months, I have been receiving emails from the university from their administrative staff who have been immensely supportive and kind. I was also getting a feel of the activities at The School at B through its official Twitter account. And in recent days, I had even joined the Facebook page for the class I am enrolling in and really felt the spirit of going back to school.

I mean, of course, I felt intimidated at the thought of keeping up with every other student in the class who seemed to be younger and more dynamic than me. Of course I would have to overcome cultural gaps and familiarising myself with my surroundings. And of course it was daunting to reintegrate myself back into the world of academia. But armed with a host of digital information and exchange of emails, I realised that deep down, I was looking forward to a new beginning and the challenges it would bring.

Thank goodness both my supervisor and the Head of Department (my supervisor’s supervisor) were on leave in the second half of the day and that both of my staff was also away for the day.

Needless to say, I spent the rest of the day being miserable and nearly broke down several times. Once whilst relaying the news to my supervisor within the hour of finding out and several more times when I updated in my family in our chat group. Otherwise, I would have to be forced to function and that would have been felt like a much longer day than necessary.

But don’t you worry, I have worked too long, troubled too many people and come too far to take this lying down. THERE WILL BE A PLAN.

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

